Only 7 days to study! Any tips?

Hi! I just started studying yesterday but I am taking the SIE in 7 days. No getting around that as my new job requests it.

I was wondering if anyone could give me some tips on what to do when you have so little time? I specifically have been wondering if I should take notes or not since that will consume too much time. Is it enough to just read the text and take the practice tests?

Honestly any type of recommendation would be helpful, I’m so nervous!

Thanks!!!

1 Like

Hi @Live_amber_hippopota, welcome!

Studying for the SIE in a week will be intense, but you can do it! It’s fairly common to see firms put their new hires through a “bootcamp” period like this where you just cram for the exam.

For anyone else reading this thread: we feel it’s much better to take your time learning and not cram your studying into a single week. It’ll be less stressful and you’ll have a better understanding and long-term retention of the material. But if you’re in this situation, here’s what I’d recommend (assuming you don’t have to work and are just studying):

1. Read through the entire online textbook from start to end. It’s about 8 hours of reading, so try to break it into 4 sessions of 2 hours each over two days.
  2. Skip the topic review quizzes entirely, just focus on reading and understanding.
  3. After you’ve read the entire book, start doing full-length, timed practice exams, maybe around three a day. After you finish an exam, take a 5-minute break, then spend an hour or so reviewing every question you missed or guessed. Revisit the reading material for trickier topics.
  4. Get a good night’s rest the night before the exam.
  5. Review the SIE exam dump sheet immediately before your exam.
  6. And do your best!
3 Likes

Thank you, Justin, I’ll try to follow that!

Hey, Justin, just wanted to let you l know I passed my SIE Exam on Friday!