Series 65 Registration

Hi!

I am currently studying for Series 65. If I pass, I’d like to know more about how you register as an IAR.

I have no plans to work for an RIA firm and I do not plan on starting my own Investment Advisor firm.

For people in this situation (upon passing), can/do we still register in our home states (or SEC?) or do most people just say they passed and I assume evidence of that would show up on my FINRA account.

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @Shaky_tan_grouse, welcome, and thanks for posting.

I’m not sure I understand your question… if you don’t plan on working for an RIA or starting one yourself, who would you be working for?

We wrote a blog article about starting your own RIA - not all of it will be relevant to your situation, but it might help shed some light on the different parts of the registration process.

Let me frame the Q differently.

I passed my Real Estate exam and got licensed as a RE agent. I did not go ahead and work for a principal broker, I really just did it to improve my resume and gain knowledge.

My home states RE Commission allows you to register as a RE Agent under “inactive status.” So yes, I tell people I’m a state-registered RE agent who “could sell houses if he wanted to,” but doesn’t.

So can I file form 4 with my state department and say I’m a IAR or is that not possible if you have no plans to “use” the license

1 Like

Hi @Shaky_tan_grouse - I’ll try my best to answer your question.

To the best of my knowledge, you must be registered with an investment adviser firm to operate as an IAR in the industry. This could be your own firm you establish, which we discuss in the blog @Justin linked above. You may be able to operate independently in the real estate industry, but it sounds like the securities industry operates differently.